Departure for Bustransfer to Braunschweig Airport

Date Hotel Departure
30th September 2014 Mercure Hotel 11:20 a.m.
Hotel an der Stadthalle 11:25 a.m.
Stadtpalais 11:30 a.m.
Best Western City Hotel 11:35 a.m.
Hotel Deutsches Haus 11:40 a.m.
Am Wollmarkt CVJM 11:45 a.m.
Bustransfer to the hotel/Departure:
Frontdoor DLR
08:00 p.m.

Transfer to Hermann-Blenk-Str. 42 about 1 hour.

Date Hotel Departure
1st October 2014 Mercure Hotel 07:20 a.m.
Hotel an der Stadthalle 07:25 a.m.
Stadtpalais 07:30 a.m.
Best Western City Hotel 07:35 a.m.
Hotel Deutsches Haus 07:40 a.m.
Am Wollmarkt CVJM 07:45 a.m.
Departure to the evening reception/ Paläon
Frontdoor NFF
06:30 p.m.

Date Hotel Departure
2nd October 2014 Mercure Hotel 07:20 a.m.
Hotel an der Stadthalle 07:25 a.m.
Stadtpalais 07:30 a.m.
Best Western City Hotel 07:35 a.m.
Hotel Deutsches Haus 07:40 a.m.
Am Wollmarkt CVJM 07:45 a.m.
Bustransfer to the hotel/Departure:
Frontdoor NFF
12:45 p.m.


The symposium FORMS/FORMAT 2014 offers scientists facing formal techniques, practitioners and managers, developers and consultants of automotive and railway industries as well as traffic system operators with interest in formal methods an accepted platform for the exchange of scientific experience and the transfer of practical description means, methods and tools for complex automation systems.


We are happy to announce that this year's program for FORMS/FORMAT 2014 is online. Please click here to see the final program online, or download FORMS/FORMAT 2014 Program Flyer (1.9 MB)


Since 20 successful years and for the 10th time the FORMS/FORMAT Symposium is held by the Institute for Traffic Safety and Automation Engineering of the Technische Universität Braunschweig under the leadership of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. mult Eckehard Schnieder. Therefore this years Symposium will be bigger, and better.


The organizing committee has the pleasure to invite you for participation in the 10th FORMS/FORMAT  2014 Symposium on Formal Methods for Automation and Safety in Railway and Automotive Systems from September 30th to October 2nd in Braunschweig, Germany.

The symposium FORMS - Formal techniques for railway management systems - took place for the first time as a cooperative symposium involving the Institute for Traffic Safety and Automation Engineering, Technische Universität Braunschweig and the Department of Control and Transport Automation, Budapest University of Technology and Economics in 1998 with great success. Due to an increasing interest and to the transferability to automotive matters, the symposium has been extended by FORMAT - Formal techniques in automotive applications - in 2004.


In the future the handling of complexity in automation- and safety systems in railway and automotive applications will be dominated more and more by the use of formal description means, methods and tools. Formal techniques provide besides correctness and integrity checks - especially for safety relevant systems - the possibility to model, prove, simulate and check specification of the systems as well as to generate the system implementations.

In FORMS/FORMAT 2014 requirements on formal techniques, which are often expressed in the EU-Guidelines as CENELEC - and IEC- Standards, will be treated particularly with regard to safety and more and more incorporate security. The main focus lies on topics facing formal techniques for railway applications and intelligent transportation systems as well as for automotive applications.

Gained findings, experiences and also difficulties associated with the handling of the subject matter as well as description means and tools are to be shown.


For this year's FORMS/FORMAT Symposium, the following invited speaker are presenting the state of the art and research in their fields of expertise:

  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Leohold, Executive Director of Group Research at Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft, Germany.
  • Dr. Tobias Schaller, Head of Scientific Bases Safety of Federal Office of Transport, Switzerland.
  • Prof. Tao Tang, Head of State Key Laboratory of Rail Traffic Control, Beijing Jiaotong University, China.
  • Lars Reger, Vice President Strategy, New Business, and R&D for the Automotive business unit at NXP Semiconductors, Germany.


Specific topics and areas include but are not limited to:


Notation Means and Methods for Concepts, Design, Modelling, Implementation and Operation 

formal means of description as UML/SysML, Petrinets and others modelling techniques, simulation, quantification and metrics, and further topics of relevance


Verification, Validation and Testing Methods

system and functional validation, automated verification and testing, model based testing tools, limits of formal methods, tools, and further topics of relevance


Safety Engineering

reliability, availability and maintainability, methods for risk and hazard analysis; risk acceptance, risk measures, evaluation of RAMS-Parameter, risk mitigation, tools, and further topics of relevance


Security Engineering

vulnerability of traffic infrastructure, vehicle security, communication security, tools, and further topics of relevance


Requirements Engineering, Ontology and Terminology 

knowledge engineering, requirements management, identification, analysis, validation, ontology and terminology developement, tools, and further topics of relevance


Human Factors and Human Behaviour Modelling 

learning, manipulation, human in the loop, FCR-modelling and further topics of relevance


Legal framework and Standardisation 

directives, laws, regulations, standards and norms, certification and further topics of relevance


Applications, Demonstrations and Case Studies 

driver assistance systems, signalling systems, control of driving dynamic systems, application of standards, and further topics of relevance


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. mult. E. Schnieder, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany (Chair)

Prof. Dr. G. Tarnai, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary (Chair)


The program committee is to be announced soon.

Dr. M. Antoni - SNCF (F)

Prof. Dr. N. Leveson - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)

Prof. Dr. J. Axmann - Volkswagen AG (D)

Prof. Dr. A. Pretschner - Technische Universität München (D)

Prof. Dr. J. Beyerer - Frauenhofer IOSB (D)

Prof. Dr. C. Roberts - University of Birmingham (GB)

K. Bosch - TÜV Süd Rail (D)

Dr. B. Sághi - CERTUNIV (H)

Prof. Dr. J. Braband - Siemens AG (D)

Prof. Dr. I. Schäfer - Technische Universität Braunschweig (D)

Prof. Dr. W. Damm - Technische Universität Oldenburg (D)

Prof. Dr. H. Schlinghoff - Humboldt Universität Berlin (D)

Prof. Dr. P. Díez - Universitat Politécnica de Catalunya (E)

U. Steininger - TÜV Süd Automotive (D)

Dr. E.-M. El-Koursi - IFSTTAR (F)

Prof. Dr. T. Tang - Beijing Jiaotong University (CN)

Dr. K.-R. Hase - Deutsche Bahn AG (D)

Dr. Eng. S. Tsugawa - Meijo University (J)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. A. Haxthausen - Technical University of Denmark (DK)

Prof. Dr. S. Wagner - Universität Stuttgart (D)

S. Hiraguri - RTRI (J)

Prof. Dr. H. Wang - Tongji University (CN)

Prof. Dr. Y. Hirao - Nagaoka University of Technology (J)

Prof. Dr. K.-D. Wolf - Bergische Universität Wuppertal (D)

Prof. A. Janota - University of Žilina (SK)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. W. Zheng - Beijing Jiaotong University (CN)

Prof. Dr. K. Lemmer - Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (D)

Prof. Dr. E. Zio - Ecole Centrale Paris und Supelec (F)


This year the program committee will again award the best presenter as well as the best paper submission. The best paper will be honoured with 1000€, and the best presentation will receive a surprise gift.